Quicksand Pt. 2

Because I was not sympathetic enough to Andrew’s tooth fiasco the week of our move, I have now been struck with a horrible toothache and I desperately need antibiotics. I decide to take the kids for a walk through the neighborhood to the pharmacy and grocery store. It’s all within a half mile of our apartment. I thought it would be good for the kids to burn off some energy and even brought backpacks for them to help carry the groceries. Things started out okay.

Here are some of the happy times on our walk:

Things went downhill from there. At the grocery store the boys fought over the cart that had the  car attached to it. Aiden decided that if he couldn’t be in the car he would push the cart. He knocked over a large display- fortunately it was only toilet paper. They each got a coloring book and a pack of markers but fought over the markers while we were checking out. I paid for the groceries and loaded up our backpacks. According to google maps the walk back from the store would take 6 minutes, so I didn’t even think about taking a taxi. It took us over an hour. Check out the videos below for a taste of our adventure. I know you’re busy and you might not have 5 minutes to watch these videos, or maybe you’re at the office. Here’s the gist: Aiden talked nonstop and Sam slowly lost the will to live. We could see the building but we just couldn’t get there. I had too many bags so I couldn’t carry Sam and I really just needed to take some medicine for my throbbing tooth. Fortunately, this was the end of my 4 days as a single mom in Medellín.

    

Street Urchins

When Andrew got back we all watched the videos together- there are about 10 of them. I laughed so hard I cried.  But then I just cried. Seriously, the floodgates opened and I couldn’t stop; all the stress of the last few months just poured out. Poor Aiden had never seen me cry before and then he lost it and started sobbing. It was a big cry fest.  Then I put on a dress and we all went out for a nice dinner- for our first night all together in Medellín.


One Comment on “Quicksand Pt. 2”

  1. Sue says:

    I laughed so hard that I cried too!

    Like


Leave a Reply

